Current and Upcoming Events

Saturday, December 3, 2022 - 10:00am
Presenter: 
Friends of the Old Croton Aqueduct

Free, easy, 2-hour tour. Meet at the benches in front of the Joseph Caputo Center, which is located at 95 Broadway, Ossining, NY 10562, just west of Rte. 9/Highland Ave. at the junction of Croton Ave. (Rte. 133) (from Metro-North Ossining Train Station by taxi or 15-minute uphill walk). (Parking lots nearby) After a brief walk, descend into the Weir in Ossining and explore the original 1842 brick water tunnel and learn its history.

Required: pre-registration (limited number); bring masks, and social distancing.

Walk will be rescheduled if weather does not cooperate.

Wednesday, December 7, 2022 - 10:00am
Presenter: 
NYS Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation

Making a Statement That Still Speaks Today

Speaker: Chet Kerr, Board Member of the Irvington Historic Society

Program Location: Keeper’s House Visitor Center, 15 Walnut St, Dobbs Ferry, NY. Parking on street.

If you walk along the Old Croton Aqueduct between Irvington and Lyndhurst, you will find the stunning estate called Villa Lewaro. It is on the trail, just north of Main Street in Irvington. It was originally the home of Madam C.J. Walker. She was a beauty mogul, entrepreneur, and civil rights activist, and widely known as America’s first female, self-made millionaire. An orphan by the age of seven and a mother and widow by the age of twenty, she developed a hair-care product for Black women that she built into a nation-wide business, employing over thousands of agents to distribute her products. In 1918, she built a magnificent 34-room Italianate mansion in Irvington, New York, which still stands today on the east side of the Old Croton Aqueduct. Irvington Historical Society Board Member Chet Kerr will lead a talk about Madam Walker’s remarkable life and her “Villa Lewaro” mansion that she hoped to be a statement about the possibilities for the African American community. This program was organized by the NYS Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation. Space is limited.

Image: Christopher Payne
Thursday, December 8, 2022 - 3:30pm
Presenter: 
Friends of the Old Croton Aqueduct

Free, easy, 2-hour tour. Meet at the benches in front of the Joseph Caputo Center, which is located at 95 Broadway, Ossining, NY 10562, just west of Rte. 9/Highland Ave. at the junction of Croton Ave. (Rte. 133) (from Metro-North Ossining Train Station by taxi or 15-minute uphill walk). (Parking lots nearby) After a brief walk, descend into the Weir in Ossining and explore the original 1842 brick water tunnel and learn its history.

Required: pre-registration (limited number); bring masks, and social distancing.

Walk will be rescheduled if weather does not cooperate.

Saturday, December 10, 2022 - 10:00am
Presenter: 
Friends of the Old Croton Aqueduct

Free, easy, 2 miles/2 hours (total) loop hike north along the Aqueduct and atop the beautiful Croton Dam. Meet near the restrooms at the rear (south end) of the parking lot at Croton Gorge Park, Rte. 129, Cortlandt, NY. 10567, GPS Coordinates: 41°13′ 20.46” N -73°51′12.59” W. The leader of the hike will discuss the history and construction of the Old Croton Aqueduct and the features of the Croton Dam, the trailhead of the Old Croton Aqueduct Trail. The Aqueduct was completed in 1842 to supply fresh water to a thirsty New York City.

(From Metro-North Hudson Line Croton-Harmon Train Station: 15-minute taxi.)

Required: pre-registration (limited number); bring masks; and social distancing.

Walk may be rescheduled if weather does not cooperate.

Sunday, December 11, 2022 - 1:00pm
Presenter: 
Friends of the Old Croton Aqueduct

Free, open-air, 5-mile (total) loop walk beginning and ending (where we will meet) at the bench near the admission booth inside the park entrance at 355 Midland Avenue (at Teresa Avenue), Yonkers, NY 10704. Parking is free inside the park near the meeting place or along Midland Ave. Discover the connections between the Old Croton Aqueduct, Tibbetts Brook Park, and the South County Trailway. View Tibbetts Brook and three Croton Water structures and learn their history. Trail may be muddy; sturdy shoes or boots advisable.

Required: pre-registration (limited number); masks, and social distancing.

Walk will be rescheduled if weather does not cooperate.

Sunday, January 1, 2023 - 12:00pm
Presenter: 
Friends of the Old Croton Aqueduct

Easy, small group, open-air 2 mile/2 hour (total) loop hike north along the Aqueduct and atop the beautiful Croton Dam. Meet near the restrooms at the rear (south end) of the parking lot at Croton Gorge Park, Rte. 129, Cortlandt, NY. 10567, GPS Coordinates: 41°13′34”N 73°51′21”W. The leader of the hike will discuss the history and construction of the Old Croton Aqueduct and the features of the Croton Dam, the trailhead of the Old Croton Aqueduct Trail. The Aqueduct was completed in 1842 to supply fresh water to a thirsty New York City. (From Metro-North Hudson Line Croton-Harmon Train Station: 15-minute taxi.)

Required: pre-registration (limited number); bring masks; and social distancing.

Walk will be rescheduled if weather does not cooperate.

Friday, January 6, 2023 - 10:00am
Presenter: 
NYS Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation

Speaker: Dana White, Ossining Board of Trustees, former Ossining Historian

Program Location: Croton-on-Hudson Library, Croton Free Library, 171 Cleveland Drive, Croton-on-Hudson, NY 10520

If you were walking along the OCA trail in Ossining in the 1840s, you would see an expanding prison facility on the River when you got to the place that is now Edward Street. The Old Croton Aqueduct was constructed in the 1830s in reaction to New York’s expanding population and its need for clean water. The chaotic and crowded City was also facing an increase in poverty and crime in the infamous neighborhood of Five Points. Sing Sing Prison was constructed as another response to these urban problems in this pre-industrial era.

Sing Sing Correctional Facility has been a presence in the Ossining village for almost 200 years. At one time, the village and the prison shared a name. Today the prison and the village seem worlds apart, but for a long time, the two were inseparable. The shared history can be seen throughout the community, even in places we’d never think to look. Presented by Dana White, former Ossining Village Historian and current Village Trustee, with lots of illustrations.

This program was organized by NYS Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation. Space is limited.