Lord & Burnham (conservatories) and Louis Comfort Tiffany (stained glass) Tour
As part of PATH THROUGH HISTORY, and CELEBRATE IRVINGTON! -- Tour the Main Street of the Village of Irvington, the former site of the Lord & Burnham Company, manufacturer of conservatories for wealthy clients, including robber baron Jay Gould of Lyndhurst, and the New York Botanical Garden. The morning walk begins in the repurposed headquarters of Lord & Burnham, now the Irvington Public Library, at 12 South Astor Street, Irvington, across the street from the Irvington Metro-North train station (free parking). It ends in the McVickar House. The afternoon walk begins in the McVicar House, 131 Main Street, and ends on the waterfront site of Lord & Burnham’s repurposed factory. Both similar walks are less than 2 miles, on pavement. We will explore Irvington’s historic Main Street (which intersects with the Old Croton Aqueduct Trail), including the Tiffany Reading Room, one of the few surviving interiors designed by Tiffany, in Irvington’s Village Hall, and the McVickar House, the second oldest home in Irvington and headquarters of the Irvington Historical Society. Along the way, visit Irvington Village Hall, a 1902 historic landmark building and its restored Tiffany Reading Room, and the Town Hall Theater, modeled after the Ford Theater in Washington, DC. You may also wish to join the daylong CELEBRATE IRVINGTON! festival on Irvington’s Main Street (details: www.irvingtonny.gov), with free trolley rides & more. Inquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org or 646-303-1448.